I have been away for a while…

Hi there! I have been away for a while. I have wanted to write, but something, or should I say someone has been keeping me from it. Dominic’s Grandfather, 20120423-101240.jpgBop bop, a truly great man, and someone very dear to my heart, passed away a few months ago. I have been very sad missing him ever since, and I anticipate always. In between Bop bop thoughts, I have to step away from the computer and go to the bathroom to wipe my tears with some toilet paper. Yes, we are a family that uses toilet paper for other thing besides wiping our nether regions…which reminds me of a funny story. My loving, kind, beautiful, diplomatic Mother In Law approached me when she last visited and said to me in kind of a hushed voice that she needed to ask me a question. She made it clear she did not want to offend me or embarrass me(I think those were the words she used). By the way, I need to interject and tell you that I really love my MIL. I am not like those women that say they love their MIL, but really don’t “Love” their MIL. I mean I don’t love my MIL in a I want to marry her kind of way, but let’s face it, If my Father In Law did not see her first, I would consider it.

20120423-101255.jpgOk, seriously, I need to tell you this before my kids come in and see I am writing you…and then I will have to stop and read Rapunzel about 20 times. My soon to be 4 year old Marjie will ask every time, “Mama, I have a question, how did Rapunzel get up in the tower, ” I would reply sweetly, “honey, I think there is a ladder behind that tree, as I pointed to a tree. Then at the end of the story she will ask, “mama, how did the witch get down from the tower.” I will reply,”I don’t think the witch ever came down from the tower, and that is how and why Rapunzel and the prince lived happily ever after.” My answers seem to satisfy her, at least for right now.

Anyway back to my conversation with my MIL. Ok, so at this point, I am not sure what she is going to ask me, and by this time I am smiling, leaning in closer. She says to me, “Would you mind terribly if we purchase some tissues.” I start giggling, because that is the question that she thought 20120423-101312.jpgwould offend me or embarrass me. I was neither offended nor embarrassed. I think we were in a drug, or food store at the time and we went right over and put some tissues in the cart. Ever since then we have kept a box of tissues in the room where my In-laws sleep when they are visiting. I never think to use it when I am, say wiping tears from my eyes, as It is for my dear friend, my MIL.

So when I first began this post I was talking about our much loved by all, special, kind hearted, generous, grandfather, Bop bop. I am pretty sure I loved him from the first time I met him about 10 years ago in Oakhurst, CA. I remember Dominic and I were just dating at the time and he took me to meet Bop, and I felt warm and welcome from his first greeting. He always had a healthy love and respect for life, a lovely way 20120423-101327.jpgwith words(both written and spoken), and an easy, joking way about him. We shared a wonderful rapport, respect, and love for his family and each other. I miss him so much and am so happy I had the immense pleasure of knowing him for 10 years. I recently had a conversation with my MIL about her Dad, and the conversation made me feel happier. So now you know the reason I have been away for so long. Winter is behind us, Spring is upon us and Summer is fast approaching. I am looking forward to sharing my past, present and future projects and adventures with you. Please be patient with me and definitely stay tuned…

This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment